Root veg pasta with sage butter

I have got a bit gardening obsessed lately and I am fast running out of room for all my pots. I keep telling myself I need to buy more flowers to add some more colour but I’m a bit addicted to herbs (I saw some beautiful red thyme on Saturday but I was good and didn’t buy it, mainly because I didn’t have anywhere to put it). The problem is I’m not a very adventurous cook when it comes to herbs and unless a recipe calls for them they easily get overlooked. So I have embarked on a mission to use more herbs!

Today’s recipe was a simple pasta using some of my sage (which has grown a bit too bushy and suffering from yellow leaves and so is the most desperate for regular use). This was enough for one adult and one child.

wp-image-1328405754jpg.jpgIngredients:

Handful each of carrot, parsnip and sweet potato, approx. 1cm cubes

Sprig of sage, leaves only

4oz pasta

3tbsp butter

 

 

Method:

Roast vegetables at 200C for about 30-40 minutes

Cook pasta according to packet instructions

Meanwhile, melt butter and fry sage leaves until fragrant

Mix everything together and enjoy – preferably outside in the sunshine!

 

Herbs in my garden:

Sage * Rosemary * Chives * Mint * Lemon balm * Golden marjoram * Oregano * Lavender (not suitable for eating)

20160716_101421.jpgI have also this weekend prepared some sage oil, and some rosemary and chilli oil, as well as dried some herbs for use in soaps. I have made a batch of soaps with lemon balm in tonight, however, there seems to have been some strange reaction but I am not sure whether that is due to the lemon balm or the jojoba wax (which I have also not used in my soaps before). I am suspecting the lemon balm as the reaction is greater in the soaps with more of it!

 

Leave a Reply

