Moroccan-inspired aubergine

I switched my Wonky Veg box delivery to fortnightly as I was struggling to get through it all without resorting to soups for the leftovers (and it’s not exactly soup weather). I am currently getting a small box as well, which goes to show they are either very generous with the portions or I just don’t eat enough veg. Either way, my first fortnightly delivery did the trick and when my box arrived this morning I only had two small aubergines and one onion remaining. I had also been saving the aubergines for tonight as my husband is out and he does not like aubergines. So bring on tonight’s meal of simplicity:

wp-1468008482501.jpgIngredients:

Two small aubergines (so-called wonky veg that could have gone to waste before it had even left the farm)

1-2 tsp harissa

1 egg (half dozen box bought for 10p as past its ‘best before’ date)

2 (large) cherry tomatoes, halved (also wonky veg)

A sprinkling of dukka and oil (I used avocado oil)

Method:

Halve the aubergines lengthways then cut the flesh of each in diagonals. Spread harissa over the flesh and drizzle over a bit of oil. Bake at 200C for about 40 minutes (until nice and soft. 10 minutes before the end add the tomatoes.

Serve alongside a fried egg sprinkled with dukka.

Food stuff used up:

Harissa * Avocado oil * Aubergines * Egg

Food left on plate:

Aubergine stalks!

 

Leave a Reply

