Monster Noodle Soup

 

IMG_20160330_193156[1]

 

… so named because I had to serve it in a mixing bowl.

This dish is the epitome of leftover cooking: it is not what I set out to make. The plan was tagliatelle in a mushroom and tarragon sauce, but it seemed silly to leave half the stock when I was using up everything else. The result, however, was a perfect meal-for-one for a girl full of cold.

 

What did I use?

A handful of mushrooms, a few sprigs of tarragon, lemon zest, a teaspoon of mustard, a dollop of honey, butter, flour, stock (about 500ml), wholegrain tagliatelle (about 75g)

How did I make it?

While the tagliatelle was cooking (per the packet’s instructions) I fried off my mushrooms, tarragon and lemon zest in a dollop of butter. Once golden I added about a tablespoon of flour (whatever is handy, just to thicken it), stirred for a minute then added the stock. I let this bubble away, stirring occasionally, until it was a thickness I liked and seasoned it with salt and pepper. Then, I drained the pasta and added it to the ‘soup’. In the last moment I added a dollop of honey as medicine for my cold.

Food stuff finished:

Mushrooms   *  Tarragon  *  Mustard  *  Stock  *  Tagliatelle  *  And the soup – of course!

Swaps:

Try swapping the mushrooms for any leftover veg or meat, and the tarragon for any other herb. Likewise, the stock can be whatever you have to hand (I’m not actually sure what mine was) – a dash of wine, or even juice if you’re feeling experimental. Tagliatelle can be substituted for any type of pasta, noodles, rice or potatoes.

Tips:

Get a spatula around the inside of jars – you’ll be amazed at how much you can salvage!

Leave a Reply

